Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From Bridgewater Hall. Petroc Trelawny presents the BBC Philharmonic under Vassily Sinaisky. Shostakovich: Orchestral Interludes (Katerina Ismaylova). Sibelius: Symphony No 1.

From the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

The BBC Philharmonic under chief guest conductor Vassily Sinaisky perform music by Shostakovich and Brahms, featuring young Armenian violinist Sergey Khachatryan.

The concert opens with orchestral interludes taken from Shostakovich's opera Katerina Ismaylova (Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk). Written at the height of Stalin's purges in the 1930s, it was popular with audiences, but was condemned in an anonymous article in Pravda and banned in the Soviet Union for almost 30 years. The composer extracted these interludes from his 1962 reworking of the piece. It is followed by Sibelius's First Symphony, which introduces the colourful tones and creative harmonies which were to become the hallmark of all his orchestral works.

BBC Philharmonic
Vassily Sinaisky (conductor)

Shostakovich: Orchestral Interludes (Katerina Ismaylova)
Sibelius: Symphony No 1.

45 minutes

Last on

Fri 20 Nov 2009 19:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Performance on 3