Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

Apollo's Fire in Fasch: Overture in G; Bach: Orchestral Suite No 3. Cleveland Orchestra in Janacek: Sinfonietta, Op 60; Bartok: Bluebeard's Castle; Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 6.

Louise Fryer presents recent performances by the Cleveland Orchestra, as well as the ensemble Apollo's Fire, aka the Cleveland Baroque Orchestra, with their founder and music director Jeannette Sorrell. Including Bartok's tragic opera Bluebeard's Castle.

Johann F Fasch: Overture in G for two oboes and strings
Apollo's Fire
Jeannette Sorrell (conductor)

Bach: Orchestral Suite No 3 in D, BWV1068
Apollo's Fire
Jeannette Sorrell (conductor)

Janacek: Sinfonietta for orchestra, Op 60
Cleveland Orchestra
Pierre Boulez (conductor)

Bartok: Bluebeard's Castle, Op 11 - opera in one act
Judith ...... Michelle de Young (mezzo-soprano)
Bluebeard ...... John Relyea (bass-baritone)
Narrator ...... Eprs Kisfaludy
Cleveland Orchestra
Pierre Boulez (conductor)

Mozart: Ballet music from Idomeneo
Apollo's Fire
Jeanette Sorrell (conductor)

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 6 in B minor, Op 74 (Pathetique)
Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Most (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Fri 20 Nov 2009 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert