Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2009

Last year Alice Halstead and Harry Bradford beat young hopefuls competing to become BBC Radio 2's Young Choristers of the Year 2008 and they have since performed on national radio and television. Tonight's programme, which was recorded at St Paul's Cathedral on Friday 23 October and is hosted by Aled Jones, reveals the successors to their title.

Lindsay Gray, Director of the Royal School of Church Music, chairs the panel of judges which also includes Barbara Dickson, Carrie Grant and Karl Jenkins. The eight finalists sing two verses of a hymn and an anthem and the programme also features a special performance by Only Men Aloud, winners of BBC One's Last Choir Standing.

The eight finalists were:
Eleonore Cockerham - St John the Baptist, Knaresborough
Jacquelyne Hill - St Andrews, West Sussex
Olivia Hunt - Chester Cathedral
Lucy Taylor - Winchester Cathedral

Callum Chamberlain - Radley College Chapel Choir, Oxfordshire
William Docherty - Winchester College
Toby Hession - Peterborough Cathedral
Laurence Kilsby - Tewkesbury Abbey

The Radio 2 Young Choristers of the Year 2009 were named as Jacquelyne Hill and Laurence Kilsby. Each of the winners received a trophy and the choice of lessons with one of the UK's leading singing coaches. They will also get the opportunity to appear on national radio and TV including Radio 2's Good Morning Sunday and Radio 4's Daily Service.

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Sun 1 Nov 2009 20:00