Main content
This programme is not currently available on BBC iPlayer

Montezuma

Dan Snow travels to Mexico to investigate the history, character and legacy of Montezuma, the last great ruler of the Aztecs of Central America.

Dan Snow travels to Mexico to investigate the history, character and legacy of Montezuma, the last great ruler of the Aztecs of Central America.

He uncovers the extraordinary story of the Aztecs themselves, a cultured and civilised people whose lives were governed by eleborate ceremony and blood-curdling ritual.

Dan Snow also discovers how, in a titanic clash of cultures, their leader Montezuma faced up to a mortal threat from another world - the weaponry, gold lust and greed of 16th-century Spanish conquistadors.

1 hour

Last on

Sat 8 Oct 2011 19:00

Clip

Credits

Role Contributor
Presenter Dan Snow
Producer John Trefor
Director John Trefor
Executive Producer Ludo Graham

Broadcasts

  • Sat 19 Sep 2009 20:00
  • Sun 20 Sep 2009 19:00
  • Mon 28 Sep 2009 20:00
  • Sat 14 Nov 2009 03:25
  • Sun 29 Nov 2009 18:00
  • Sun 29 Nov 2009 19:00
  • Tue 20 Jul 2010 22:00
  • Sat 2 Apr 2011 00:45
  • Fri 10 Jun 2011 23:30
  • Mon 3 Oct 2011 19:00
  • Sat 8 Oct 2011 00:55
  • Sat 8 Oct 2011 19:00