Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Presented by Martin Handley. The London Symphony Orchestra under Valery Gergiev performs Debussy's La mer, Dutilleux's L'arbre des songes and Ravel's ballet Daphnis and Chloe.

Presented by Martin Handley.

The London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Valery Gergiev play Debussy's La mer, Dutilleux's Violin Concerto entitled L'arbre des songes (with soloist Leonidas Kavakos) and Ravel's great ballet Daphnis and Chloe.

Debussy spent the summers of his childhood at Cannes, and drew on his vivid memories of 'old friend the sea, always innumerable and beautiful' when he began writing his shimmering La mer in 1903. Dutilleux's sparkling 1985 violin concerto is inspired by ideas of growth and renewal - the piece, he said, 'grows somewhat like a tree.' Ravel described Daphnis and Chloe which he wrote in 1912 for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, as a 'choreographic symphony in three parts.'

Debussy: La mer
Dutilleux: L'arbre des songes
Ravel: Daphnis and Chloe

Leonidas Kavakos (violin)
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra
Valery Gergiev (conductor)

Followed by music first performed at the Three Choirs Festival in the course of its long and distinguished history, including the Tallis Fantasia, by Vaughan Williams.

Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
Philharmonia Orchestra
Malcolm Sargent (conductor)
EMI 7243 57478229 CD2 Tr.10

2 hours, 15 minutes