Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin/Ingo Metzmacher, with Christian Tetzlaff (violin). Webern: Passacaglia. Berg: Violin Concerto. Brahms: Symphony No 4. And Rachel Podger in Bach.

Presented by Martin Handley.

Ingo Metzmacher conducts the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin and violinist Christian Tetzlaff in a performance of Viennese classics by Webern, Berg and Brahms.

The ghost of Bach hangs over the works. Webern modelled his early Passacaglia on the great organ work by Bach, creating one of his most lyrical and romantic works. Berg's elegiac Violin Concerto draws on one of Bach's most tragic chorales Es ist genug as a tribute to Mahler's daughter, who had died at a young age. And in the magnificent Symphony No 4, Brahms takes the chaconne from Bach's Cantata No 150 and makes it his own.

Christian Tetzlaff (violin)
Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin
Ingo Metzmacher (conductor)

Webern: Passacaglia
Berg: Violin Concerto
Brahms: Symphony No 4

And in a recital given at Hereford Cathedral at the 2009 Three Choirs Festival, violinist Rachel Podger plays Bach's Partita in B minor for solo violin, BWV1002.

Continuing this week's theme of music from the Three Choirs Festival, the programme closes with:

Howells: Sanctus from Missa Sabrinensis
Janice Watson (sop), Della Jones, (alto)
Martyn Hill (tenor) Donald Maxwell (bass)
London Symphony Chorus &
LSO conducted by Gennadi Rozhdestvensky
Chandos CHAN 9348

2 hours, 15 minutes