Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Electronic music aficionado Mark Jones presents the second in a series of shows joining the dots between retro electro and 21st century synth pop.

Mark is joined this week by Daniel Miller, who founded Mute records in 1978 and has since put out records by Depeche Mode, Yazoo and Moby. He tells Mark how Krautrock and post punk shaped his label's sound, playing tracks by Neu, Can and an exclusive track from the new Maps album.

Mark also delves into his record bag for another mutant mashup of early 80s synth funk from the likes of Pigbag, Heaven 17 and Grace Jones, plus there's electro past and present from Animotion, Landscape and Little Boots.

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Sat 29 Aug 2009 21:00