Main content

Jake Hanna

Drummer Jake Hanna joins Alyn Shipton to select highlights from his recordings, including discs with Woody Herman, Harry James, Marian McPartland and Toshiko Akiyoshi.

Best known as the powerhouse behind the 1960s Woody Herman band, Jake Hanna was one of the most versatile and experienced drummers in jazz before his death in February 2010.

Alyn Shipton presents an archive interview with Hanna in which the drummer selects the highlights from his recorded work, including discs with Herman, Harry James, Marian McPartland and Toshiko Akiyoshi.

When Jake Hanna joined Harry James, the bandleader sent his wife to collect him and his drums from the station - not everyone can claim to have been met off a train by Betty Grable.

This is just one of the stories that Jake Hanna tells Alyn Shipton in his highly entertaining account of his recording career, which also includes work with Bing Crosby and re-launching the career of Rosemary Clooney as a jazz singer.

1 hour

Last on

Sun 27 Jun 2010 00:00


Music Played

  • John Sheridan's Dream Band


    Composer: Berlin Performers: John Sheridan, p. ldr; Randy Reinhart, Dan Barrett, c; Russ Phillips, tb; Ron Hockett, Scott Robinson, Dan Block, reeds; Eddie Erikson, g; Phil Flanagan, b; Jake Hanna, d Recorded: 2006

    • Swing Is Still the King.
    • Arbors.
    • 19339.
  • Woody Herman

    Better Get It in Your Soul

    Composer: Mingus, arr. Bob Hammer Performers: Bill Chase, Billy Hunt, Dave Gale, Gerry Lamy, Paul Fontaine (tp); Bob Rudolph, Phil Wilson, Henry Southall (tb); Woody Herman (cl, as, vcl); Sal Nistico, Bobby Jones, Bill Perkins (ts); Frank Hittner (bari) ; Nat Pierce (p); Chuck Andrus (b); Jake Hanna (d) Recorded: live at Basin Street West, Hollywood, May 1963

    • Mosaic Select Woody Herman.
    • Mosaic.
    • MS 031.
  • Toshiko Akiyoshi

    American Ballad

    Composer: Akiyoshi Performers: Toshiko Akiyoshi (piano); Monty Budwig (bass); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: 1978

    • Finesse.
    • Concord.
    • CCD 4069.
  • Marian McPartland


    Composer: Ellington Performers: Marian McPartland (piano); Jake Hanna (drums); Brian Torff (bass) Recorded: Concord Jazz festival, 1979

    • Windows.
    • Concord.
    • 2233.
  • The Newport Jazz Festival All-Stars


    Composer: Miller/Cohn/Styne/Krueger Performers: Buck Clayton, t; Vic Dickenson, tb; Pee Wee Russell, cl; Bud Freeman, ts; George Wein, p; Eddie Jones, b; Jake Hanna, d Recorded: 1959

    • Newport Festival All Stars.
    • Atlantic.
    • LTZ-K. 15202.
  • Harry James and His Orchestra

    Moanin' Low

    Composer: Dietz/Rainger Performers: Harry James, Nick Buono, Rob Turk, Sam Conte, Mike Conn (trumpets); Ray Sims, Joe Cadena, Dick McQuardy, Juan Tizol (trombones); Willie Smith, Joe Riggs, Sam Firmature, Dave Madden, Ernie Small (reeds); Jack Perciful (piano); Terry Rosen (guitar); Red Kelly (bass); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: September 1961

    • Requests on the Road.
    • MGM.
    • MGM-C-908.
  • Count Basie and The Kansas City Seven

    I'll Always Be in Love with You

    Composer: Green/Ruby/Stept Performers: Count Basie (piano); Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis (tenor saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet, flugelhorn); JJ Johnson (trombone); Joe Pass (guitar); John Heard (bass); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: 10 April 1980

    • Count Basie Kansas City Seven.
    • Original Jazz Classics.
    • 690.
  • Bing Crosby & Joe Bushkin

    Crosby Medley (excerpt)

    Composer: Barris/ Burke/ Clifford/ Johnston/ Koehler/ Moll/ Owens/ Porter/ Rainger/ Robin/ Van Heusen Performers: Bing Crosby (vocals); Joe Bushkin (piano); Johnny Smith (guitar); Milt Hinton (bass); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: 24, 25 June 1976

    • 50th Anniversary Concert at the London Palladium.
    • EMI.
    • 857547.
  • Joe Venuti and George Barnes - Sweet Georgia Brown

    Composer: Bernie/Pinkard/Casey Performers: Joe Venuti (violin); George Barnes (guitar); Ross Tompkins (piano); Ray Brown (basss); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: 1976

  • Rosemary Clooney

    No Love, No Nothin'

    Composer: Robin/Warren Performers: Rosemary Clooney (vocals); Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Warren Vache (cornet); John Oddo (piano); Jim Hughart (bass); Jake Hanna (drums) Recorded: Hollywood, California, 15 and 17 October 1990.

    • For the Duration.
    • Concord.
    • CCD 4444.