Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Royal Albert Hall, London, the BBC SO under Jiri Belohlavek opens the 2009 series of Henry Wood Promenade Concerts. Works by Stravinsky, Chabrier and Tchaikovsky.

Petroc Trelawny presents the first night of the 2009 BBC Proms season from the Royal Albert Hall, London.

The BBC Symphony Orchestra under chief conductor Jiri Belohlavek opens the new series of Henry Wood Promenade Concerts with a programme that gives a taste of some of the treasures in store over the eight weeks of the 2009 season.

Stephen Hough begins his complete cycle of the Tchaikovsky Piano Concertos and there's a nod to Stravinsky with performances of his complete ballet scores. Two starry former members of BBC Radio 3's New Generation Artists Scheme help launch its tenth birthday celebrations.

Stravinsky: Fireworks
Chabrier: Ode a la musique
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No 3 in E flat.

40 minutes

Last on

Fri 17 Jul 2009 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from BBC Proms


The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.