Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Penny Gore presents a concert from the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. With Schumann: Fugue on B-A-C-H. Beethoven: Symphony No 5. Bach: Cantata, BWV 54. Plus Debussy and Haydn.

Presented by Penny Gore.

Part of a series of matinee concerts from the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, including more in a survey of Haydn String Quartets. Simon Rowland-Jones, former viola player with the Chilingirian Quartet, introduces the Op 64, considered one of the high water marks in Viennese Classical style.

Schumann, arr Henk de Vlieger: Fugue on B-A-C-H, Op 60, No 6
Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic
Jaap van Zwenden (conductor)

Bach: Cantata - Auf, schmetternde Tone der muntern Trompeten, BWV 207a
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Chorus
Ton Koopman (director)

Beethoven: Symphony No 5 in C minor, Op 67
Orchestra of Eighteenth Century
Frans Bruggen (conductor)

Haydn: String Quartet in B flat, Op 64, No 3
Ysaye Quartet

Debussy, arr Caplet: Children's Corner
Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic
Kenneth Montgomery (conductor)

Bach, arr Maxwell Davies: Two Preludes and Fugues: in C Sharp minor and C sharp
London Sinfonietta

Bach: Cantata: Widerstehe, doch der sunde, BWV 54
Maarten Engeltjes (tenor)
Concerto Amsterdam
Klaas Stok (director).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 29 Jun 2009 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert