Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

RLPO - Americans Abroad

Presented by Petroc Trelawny. Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/Vasily Petrenko in Gershwin: An American in Paris. Higdon: Violin Concerto (Hilary Hahn - violin). Elgar: Symphony No 1.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, under chief conductor Vasily Petrenko, perform a concert entitled Americans Abroad, which features Gershwin's orchestral work An American in Paris. That is followed by the UK premiere of Jennifer Higdon's Violin Concerto, played by Grammy award-winning young American violinist Hilary Hahn.

The final work is Elgar's Symphony No 1, described at the time of its premiere in Manchester by conductor Hans Richter as 'the greatest symphony of modern times'.

Hilary Hahn (violin)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

Gershwin: An American in Paris
Higdon: Violin Concerto
Elgar: Symphony No 1

Plus part of a series of recordings celebrating the Bath International Music Festival

Bach: Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041
Bath Festival Orchestra
Yehudi Menuhin (violin/director).

2 hours, 15 minutes