Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Ian Skelly presents a concert given by the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Mariss Jansons at London's Royal Festival Hall in November 2008. Works by Mozart and Bruckner.

Ian Skelly presents a concert given in November 2008 at London's Royal Festival Hall, with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under chief conductor Mariss Jansons performing two works in the Austro-German classical tradition.

Renowned for maintaining a very German sound - considered ideal for this repertoire - the orchestra perform Mozart's Symphony in C, K425, known as the Linz symphony because it was written in the Austrian city. When he stopped there with his wife in 1783, the local count, on hearing of Mozart's arrival, announced a celebratory concert. The composer sat down and quickly penned the symphony at break-neck speed over four days and nights.

The gestation of Bruckner's 'Romantic' Fourth Symphony was somewhat longer. Originally written in 1874, it went through several revisions and re-workings as the composer struggled to find a version he was happy with. Labelled the Romantic by Bruckner himself, the title refers to a medieval romantic programme for the work - with daybreak in the medieval city, hunting themes and a peasant festival.

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mariss Jansons (conductor)

Mozart: Symphony No 36 in C, K425 (Linz)
Bruckner: Symphony No 4 in E flat (Romantic)

Followed by a focus on youth orchestras from Britain and abroad:

Falla: Suite No 2 (The Three-Cornered Hat)
Dutch National Youth Orchestra
Josep Pons (conductor)

Chavez: Barco hacia el Tropico (Boat to the Tropics) from Suite de Caballos de Vapor (Horse Power Suite)
Simon Bolivar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela
Eduardo Mata (conductor)

2 hours, 15 minutes