Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

RLPO - Music Inspired by Spring

With Petroc Trelawny. Eduard Tsanga (bass), Royal Liverpool Philharmonic under Vasily Petrenko. Elgar: Cockaigne Overture. Rachmaninov: Spring Cantata. Stravinsky: The Firebird.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert inspired by spring. The programme features Elgar's Cockaigne Overture, Stravinsky's The Firebird and Rachmaninov's Spring Cantata, a work about the healing qualities of spring, and for which the orchestra are joined by the Philharmonic Choir and Eduard Tsanga, a soloist of the Marinsky Theatre in St Petersburg.

Eduard Tsanga (bass)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir and Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

Elgar: Cockaigne Overture
Rachmaninov: Spring Cantata
Stravinsky: The Firebird (complete ballet)

Followed by Easter music from around the world.

Kenneth Leighton: Drop, drop, slow tears.
The Finzi Singers
Paul Spicer, director

Kenneth Leighton: Mass (op 44)
Stephen Cleobury, conductor;
Richard Pearce, organist
Olivia Robinson (soprano),
Sian Menna (mezzo-soprano),
Stephen Jeffes (tenor)
Edward Price (bass)

Kenneth Leighton: God’s Grandeur
BBC Singers
Stephen Cleobury, conductor

Francesco Provenzale: Dialogo in cinque voci con violini per la Passione.
Cappella della Pieta de’Turchini
Antonio Floria, director

2 hours, 15 minutes