Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Penny Gore presents music marking the eightieth birthday in 2009 of the BBC SO and Chorus. Featuring works by Tang Jianping, Guo Wenjing, Tan Dun and Mozart.

Penny Gore presents highlights from concerts by the BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Symphony Chorus, who celebrate their eightieth birthday in 2009.


Tang Jianping: Sacred Fire, for solo percussion and orchestra
Wang Beibei (marimba)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun (conductor)

Guo Wenjing: Concerto for bamboo flute
Tang Jun Qiao (bamboo flute)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun (conductor)


Tan Dun: The Map
Anssi Karttunen (cello)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Tan Dun (conductor)


Mozart: Mass in C minor, K427 (Unfinished)
BBC Symphony Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra
David Robertson (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Fri 27 Mar 2009 14:00