Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Philharmonia/Salonen in Berg and Mahler

Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Philharmonia continue their Vienna - City of Dreams series. Berg: Piano Sonata, with Mitsuko Uchida (piano). Berg: Kammerkonzert. Mahler: Symphony No 9.

Presented by Catherine Bott.

In a concert given at the Royal Festival Hall, London, Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Philharmonia Orchestra continue their exploration of the Austrian capital in the early years of the 20th century in the Vienna City of Dreams series with works by two composers whose music reflect the changing musical landscape of the city. Featuring Mahler's romantic and tonal Ninth Symphony, a Berg piano sonata and his Chamber Concerto which uses the 12-note technique developed by his teacher Schoenberg.

Mitsuko Uchida (piano)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor)

Berg: Piano Sonata Op 1; Kammerkonzert
Mahler: Symphony No 9 in D

Followed by a celebration of the London Mozart Players.

Hummel: Concertino in G op.73 (1st mov)
Howard Shelly (piano/director)
London Mozart Players

2 hours, 30 minutes