Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Highlights of the Loop Festival

Jez Nelson presents highlights from the Vortex Jazz Club. With sets from Outhouse, plus trios featuring pianists Alcyona Mick and Jasper Hoiby.

Jez Nelson presents highlights from a festival held at the Vortex Jazz Club, arranged by London's Loop Collective, considered to be a breeding ground for innovative young musicians in the city.

The festival features the edgy beats and duelling saxes of Outhouse, whose self-titled debut album was well received on its release in 2008. Plus trios from two hotly tipped pianists: Alcyona Mick, who co-leads Blink with saxophonist Robin Fincker, and Jasper Hoiby's Phronesis.

Outhouse and Phronesis recorded at the Loop Collective Festival

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Studio guests: Robin Fincker and Dave Smith of Outhouse

Excerpt from Abraham's New Gift by Phronesis (details below)

Phronesis recorded at the Vortex on February 14, 2009

Jasper Hoiby - double bass
Ivo Neame - piano
Anton Eger - drums

Set list:
Green Delay
Blue Inspiration
Happy Notes
Five Songs, Six Words
Abraham's New Gift

All tunes composed by Jasper Hoiby

Phronesis' new album - Green Delay - is released on the Loop label in May 2009

Phronesis tour dates:

1 May - The Crypt, London
2 May - Chelsea Art's Club, London
6 May - Broomhill Sculpture Park, Devon
7 May - St Austell Brewery, London
8 May - The Electric Palace, Bridgeport
9 May - The Polish Club, Birmingham
13 May - Pizza Express, London
14 May - The Spin Off, Leeds

CD Tracks:

Artist: Henri Texier - Double Bass (Sebastien Texier - alto saxophone, Manu Codjia - guitar, Christophe Marguet - drums)
Track Title: Intuition
Composer: E Codjia, C Marguet, S Texier, H Texier
Album Title: Red Route Quartet - Love Songs Reflections
Label: Label Bleu

Artists: Joachim Kuhn - Steinway Grand Piano, Michael Wollny - Steinway Grand Piano
Track Title: Encore
Composer: Kuhn/Wollny
Album Title: Live at Schloss Elmau
Label: ACT

Artists: Dave Kane - Double Bass, Alex Bonney - Trumpet and Piccolo Trumpet
Track Title: Track 6
Composer: improvised piece
Album Title: 6 Improvised Pieces
Label: Mini-Loop

Outhouse recorded at the Vortex on February 14, 2009

Line up:
Robin Fincker - tenor saxophone
Tom Challenger - tenor saxophone
Dave Smith - drums
Johnny Brierley - double bass
Pierre-Alexandre Tremblay - laptop (track 4 only)

Set list:
Fool (Fincker)
Reverse (Fincker)
Number One (Fincker)
Alignment (Smith)
Zout (Challenger)

Outhouse tour dates:

20 April Pizza Express, Dean Street, London
11 June w/Hilmar Jensson, 7 Arts Centre, Leeds
12 June w/Hilamr Jensson, CBSO Centre, Birmingham
13 June w/Hilmar Jensson, Orange Street music Venue, Canterbury
14 June w/Hilmar Jensson, The Vortex, London
15 June w/Hilmar Jensson, The Oxford, London

1 hour, 45 minutes


Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3