Main content
This programme is not currently available on BBC iPlayer


Drama about Margaret Thatcher's fall from power. As Thatcher prepares for the Lord Mayor's banquet, Geoffrey Howe pens the resignation speech that will seal her fate.

Drama charting Margaret Thatcher's astonishing fall from power, one of the most extraordinary stories of political assassination the world has seen. It took only eleven days for Thatcher to go from being the most powerful woman in the world to the tearful figure in the back of the car. A major tragedy in the true Shakespearean sense, in Margaret we watch a woman lose the one thing she really cares about - power - changing from leader to victim before our eyes.

12th November 1990: As Thatcher prepares for her speech at the Lord Mayor's banquet at the Guildhall, Geoffrey Howe, her quietly-spoken former foreign secretary and chancellor, pens the resignation speech that will stun the country and seal her fate. The next day Howe makes his lethal speech in the Houses of Parliament and the final ten days of Margaret Thatcher's reign begin.

1 hour, 55 minutes

Last on

Sun 5 May 2013 21:00


Role Contributor
Director James Kent
Margaret Thatcher Lindsay Duncan
John Wakeman Roger Allam
John Sergeant Roger Ashton-Griffiths
Caroline Stephens Charlotte Asprey
Sue Mastriforte Elizabeth Bennett
Nigel Lawson Martin Chamberlain
Alan Clark Michael Cochrane
Michael Heseltine Oliver Cotton
Gordon Reece Alan Cox
Airey Neave Dermot Crowley
Cranley Onslow Nicholas Day
Norman Lamont Julian Firth
Charles Powell James Fox
Willie Whitelaw Robert Hardy
Tristan Garel Jones Guy Henry
Cynthia Crawford Jenny Howe
John Gummer Ian Hughes
Bernard Ingham Philip Jackson
Kenneth Baker Paul Jesson
Tim Renton Nicholas Jones
Margaret King Diana Kent
Douglas Hurd Nicholas Le Prevost
Mark Thatcher Oliver Le Sueur
Edward Heath Nigel Le Vaillant
Queen Elizabeth II Rosemary Leach
John Whittingdale Christian McKay
Official Frank Maguire
John Major Michael Maloney
Norman Tebbit Roy Marsden
Denis Thatcher Ian McDiarmid
William Waldegrave Tim McMullan
Kenneth Clarke Kevin R McNally
Speaker of the Commons George Pensotti
John MacGregor Mark Perry
Carol Thatcher Olivia Poulet
Malcolm Rifkind Nicholas Rowe
Geoffrey Howe John Sessions
Peter Morrison Rupert Vansittart
Producer Sanne Wohlenberg
Writer Richard Cottan


  • Thu 26 Feb 2009 21:00
  • Sat 7 Mar 2009 21:00
  • Thu 12 Nov 2009 22:00
  • Wed 20 Jan 2010 23:00
  • Thu 4 Aug 2011 21:30
  • Sun 5 May 2013 21:00