Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Episode 1 of 5

Penny Gore presents Steven Burnard in Walton's Viola Concerto and Maxim Rysanov in Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo Theme, in a series highlighting the viola.

Penny Gore presents a series of programmes in which the 'Cinderella of the orchestra', the viola, takes centre stage, with a variety of concertos, sonatas and other works for the instrument. New Generation Artist Maxim Rysanov plays his own arrangement of Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations, originally for cello, and BBC Philharmonic principal viola Steven Burnard performs Walton's viola concerto.

Walton: Viola Concerto (revised version)
Steven Burnard (viola)
BBC Philharmonic
Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

Haydn: Symphony No 44 (Trauer)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Tchaikovsky: Variations on a rococo theme, Op 33 (arr. for viola by Maxim Rysanov)
Maxim Rysanov (viola)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Gullberg Jensen (conductor)

Beethoven: Symphony No 6
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Beethoven: Notturno for piano and viola, Op 42 arr. from Serenade for piano and strings, Op 8 (6th mvt - Theme and variations)
Maxim Rysanov (viola)
Ashley Wass (piano)

Prokofiev: Symphony No 5 in B flat, Op 100
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Jac van Steen (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 16 Feb 2009 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert