Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Best Albums of the Year

Jez Nelson is joined by a panel of the UK's leading jazz critics to play selections from their favourite album releases of 2008.


Round-up of the best jazz CDs of 2008

Jazz on 3

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Peggy Sutton
Studio guests: John Fordham and Steve Shepherd


Artist Russell Gunn (Russell Gunn – trumpet, Gregory Tardy & Bruce Williams – reeds, Andre Heyward – trombone, Chieli Minucci – guitar, James Hurt – keyboards, Rodney Jordan – bass, Woody Williams – drums, Khalil Kwame Bell – percussion, DJ Apollo - turntables)
Track Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Joe Zawinul
Album Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1


Artist Rudresh Mahanthappa (Rudresh Mahanthappa – alto sax, Kadri Gopalnath – alto sax, A. Kanyakumari – violin, Rez Abassi – guitar, Poovalur Sriji – mridangam, Carlo de Rosa – bass, royal hartigan – drums)
Track Title Snake!
Composer Rudresh Mahanthappa, Kadri Gopalnath
Album Title Kinsmen
Label Pi Recordings

Artist Bill Frisell (Bill Frisell – electric and acoustic guitars, loops, Ron Miles – cornet, Greg Tardy – tenor saxophone, clarinet. Jenny Scheinman – violin, Eyvind Kang – viola, Hank Roberts – cello, Tony Scherr – bass, Kenny Wollesen – drums)
Track Title Sub-Conscious Lee
Composer Lee Konitz
Album Title History, Mystery
Label Nonesuch Records

Artist Ingebrigt Haker Flaten Quintet (Dave Rempis – alto, tenor & baritone saxophones, Jeff Parker – guitar & assorted pedals, Ola Kvernberg – violin, Ingebrigt Haker Flaten – double bass, electronics, Frank Rosaly – drums, electronics)
Track Title 90/94
Composer Ingebrigt Haker Flaten
Album Title The Year of the Boar
Label Jazzland, Universal

Artist Vandermark 5 (Dave Rempis – alto, tenor sax, Tim Daisy – drums, Kent Kessler – bass, Fred Lonberg-Holm – cello, electronics, Ken Vandermark – baritone, clarinets)
Track Title Speedplay
Composer Ken Vandermark
Album Title Beat Reader
Label Atavistic


Artist EST (Dan Berglund – bass, Magnus Ostrom – drums, Esbjorn Svensson – piano)
Track Title Jazz
Composer EST
Album Title Leucocyte
Label Decca Records

Artist Norma Winstone (Norma Winstone – vocals, Glauco Venier – piano, Klaus Gesing – bass clarinet, soprano saxophone)
Track Title Every Time We Say Goodbye
Composer Cole Porter
Album Title Distances
Label ECM

Artist Bourne/Davis/Kane (Matthew Bourne – piano, sampler, Dave Kane – double bass, Steven Davis – drums, percussion)
Track Title Melt
Composer Steven Davis
Album Title Lost Something
Label Edition Records

Artist William Parker Quartet (William Parker – bass, Hamid Drake – drums, Rob Brown – alto sax, Lewis Barnes – trumpet)
Track Title Malachi’s Mode
Composer William Parker
Album Title Le Petit Oiseau
Label AUM Fidelity Records

Artist Mario Pavone Double Tenor Quintet (Mario Pavone – bass, Tony Malaby – tenor/soprano saxophone, Jimmy Greene – tenor/soprano saxophone, Peter Madsen – piano, Gerald Cleaver – drums)
Track Title Pachuca
Composer Mario Pavone
Album Title Ancestors
Label Playscape Recordings

Artist Bobo Stenson Trio (Bobo Stenson – piano, Anders Jormin – double bass, Jon Falt – drums)
Track Title A Fixed Goal
Composer Ornette Coleman
Album Title Cantando
Label ECM

Artist Big Air (Chris Batchelor – trumpet, electronics, Steve Buckley – alto sax, bass clarinet, whistles, Myra Melford – piano, harmonium, Oren Marshall – tuba, electronics, Jim Black – drums)
Track Title Airlock
Composer Chris Batchelor
Album Title Big Air
Label Babel


“The John Coltrane Reference”
Chris DeVito, Yasuhiro Fujioka, Wolf Schmaler, David Wild & edited by Lewis Porter
Published by Routledge

“The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD (9th edition)”
Richard Cook and Brian Morton
Published by Penguin

Miles Davis: “Kind of Blue: 50th Anniversary Collector’s Edition” boxed set
Released by Sony BMG

1 hour, 45 minutes


Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3