Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Highlights and results from the 6th Annual British Composer Awards

Petroc Trelwany introduces highlights and the results from the 2008 British Composer Awards, hosted by the British Academy of Composers and Songwriters and held at the Law Society in London. The 12 categories judged include chamber, vocal, choral, orchestral, liturgical and sonic art.


Joe Cutler: Folk Music
Smith Quartet
Performed at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music festival

Adam Gorb: Adrenaline City
Royal Northern College of Music Wind Orchestra
Clark Rundell (Conductor)
Polyphonic QPRM 151D , Track 8

Michael Zev Gordon: Opening of “This Night” Choir of King’s College Cambridge
Anton Lukoszievice (cello)
Stephen Cleobury (conductor)

Judith Bingham : “Fantasia from The Lost Works of Paganini”
Peter Sheppard-Skaerved (violin)

John Holland: Green Sky
London Contemporary Chamber Orchestra
Alan Taylor (conductor)

Howard Skempton: The Moon is Flashing James Gilchrist (tenor)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Grant Llewellyn (conductor)

Elliot Carter: Three Illusions for Orchestra
'2nd movt : Fons Juventatis'
Boston Symphony Orchestra
James Levine (conductor)

Jonathan Dove: opening of “The Adventures of Pinocchio”
Opera North Orchestra
David Parry (Conductor)

Janek Schaefer: Extended Play, Acoustic Ensemble
Michael Jennings (piano)
Simon Hewitt Jones (violin)
Thomas Hewitt Jones (cello)

Luke Bedford: Wreathe
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Thierry Fischer (Conductor)

James MacMillan: Data est mihi from “Strathclyde Motets”
Cappella Nova
Alan Tavener (conducted)
LINN CKD301 Track 9

Composer :

Release date:

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Wed 3 Dec 2008 19:00