Main content

Today Student Journalism Awards 2018: The Winners

The winners of the Today Programme Student Journalism Awards have been announced at a ceremony in the BBC's Radio Theatre in London.

Jack Hunter, of Wadham College Oxford, was named Today Programme Student Journalist of the Year. He will be offered a position on the BBC News Journalism Trainee Scheme as the Today Programme News Trainee, a role that will involve placements on the Today Programme and at various departments within BBC News.

Sarah Sands, editor of the Today Programme and chair of the judges, said: “Jack has an excellent nose for a story and a talent for digging that drives his investigations. His work holds those in authority to account and demonstrates exactly the qualities and potential the BBC looks for in a journalist at the start of their career.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Today Programme Student Broadcaster of the Year
Winner: Nikola Bartosova, University of Salford
Commended: Layla Wright, University of Liverpool
Shortlisted: Oli Harrisson, Liverpool John Moores University

Nikola Bartosova said: “I feel very honoured and privileged that I’ve won.”

Today Programme Critic of the Year
Winner: Laura Hackett, Brasenose College Oxford
Commended: Sarah Gibbs, University College London
Commended: Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou, University College London

Laura Hackett said: “I was so shocked when I heard I was on the shortlist. It still hasn’t sunk in yet, I think I’ve decided now that I definitely do want to go into journalism.”

Today Programme Visual Journalist of the Year
Winner: Peter Flude, Falmouth University
Commended: Venetia Menzies, Westminster University
Shortlisted: Louis Ashworth, Cambridge University

Peter Flude said: “You never expect to be shortlisted; it was really nice to know that people were seeing your work and appreciating it, especially at this kind of professional level. Now that I’ve won, I’m just amazed.”

Today Programme Student Publication of the Year
Winner: The Boar, Warwick University: Elliot Mulligan, Daniel Ruben, Amy Kynman and Isabelle Atkins
Commended: Palatinate, Durham University: Cameron McIntosh, Julia Atherley, Sophie Gregory, Eugene Smith
Shortlisted: Concrete, University of East Anglia: Sophie Bunce, Matt Nixon, Shannon McDonagh

Daniel Ruben from The Boar newspaper said: “I was really pleased when we won because it’s a reflection of all the hard work that so many people have put in to this paper over the past year. This was really for everyone who’s help make the paper what it is.”

Today Student Programme of the Year
Winner: “Sombremesa”: Alexandra McLeod, Marie Guglielmi, Selena Li, Ben Lang, Annie Tricks for XpressionFM, Exeter University
Commended: “The Pulse”: Elizabeth Ephgrave, Harry Robertson, Hermione Hearne, Kathryn O'Connell for URN, Nottingham University
Shortlisted: “The Civil Row”: William Nestor-Sherman and Thomas Bullock for KCL Radio, King’s College London

Alexandra McLeod from “Sombremesa” on XpressionFM said: “It’s such a niche programme, it’s in English, French and Spanish; we thought we’ve not got this at all. I applied and didn’t know what would happen, I encourage everyone to enter.”

Today Programme Student Journalist of the Year
Winner: Jack Hunter, Wadham College Oxford
Commended: Jecca Powell, Bristol University
Shortlisted: Teuta Hoxha, King’s College London, Ben Van Der Merwe, University College London, Lottie Tiplady-Bishop, Manchester University

Jack Hunter, who has won a place on the BBC Journalism Trainee Scheme, said: “I’ve always wanted to work for BBC News so it’s really exciting to have this opportunity. It’s a dream come true.”

See pictures from the event on the Today Facebook page.