Main content

Who's Who

Sakari Oramo - Chief Conductor

Sakari Oramo was leader of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and later appointed its Associate Principal Conductor after stepping in to conduct at short notice in 1993; in 2003 he was appointed Chief Conductor and since 2013 he has been Honorary Conductor. He is Chief Conductor of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and Chief Conductor of the BBC Symphony Orchestra, a position which began at the First Night of the 2013 BBC Proms. He is also Principal Conductor of West Coast Kokkola Opera and the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra. Between 1998 and 2008 he was Music Director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. He is a regular guest with the NDR Symphony Orchestra (Hanover), Vienna Philharmonic and Staatskapelle Dresden.

“Oramo really gets under the skin of this music, and the audience showered him with warm appreciation. I can feel National Treasure status beckoning already.”
Ivan Hewett, Daily Telegraph

Highlights this season include a Nielsen symphony cycle and a tour of Spain with the BBC SO, a week of subscription concerts with the New York Philharmonic, a tour of Switzerland with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and a performance with the Deutsches Symphonie‑Orchester Berlin.

Recent recordings include Nørgård’s Symphonies Nos. 1 and 8 with the Vienna Philharmonic, and symphonies by Nielsen, Bruckner and Elgar with the RSPO.

Sakari Oramo on BBC Music

Players and Management

Leader: Stephen Bryant

Leader: Igor Yuzefovich

Richard Aylwin

Jeremy Martin

Frances Dewar

Charles Renwick

Celia Waterhouse

Jenny King

Colin Huber

Shirley Turner

Anna Smith

Ni Do

Benjamin Roskams

Molly Cockburn

Heather Hohmann (Principal)

Dawn Beazley (Co-Principal)

Ruth Hudson

Daniel Meyer

Hania Gmitruk

Vanessa Hughes

Patrick Wastnage

Philippa Ballard

Danny Fajardo

Lucy Curnow

Rachel Samuel

Tammy Se

Caroline Cooper

Victoria Hodgson

Lucica Trita

Norbert Blume (Principal)

Caroline Harrison (Co-Principal)

Philip Hall

Josh Hayward

Nikos Zarb

Audrey Henning

Natalie Taylor

Michael Leaver

Carolyn Scott

Mary Whittle

Matthias Wiesner

Peter Mallinson

Susan Monks (Principal)

Graham Bradshaw (Co-Principal)

Tamsy Kaner

Marie Strom

Mark Sheridan

Clare Hinton

Sarah Hedley-Miller

Michael Atkinson

Augusta Harris

Morwenna Del Mar

Nicholas Bayley (Principal)

Richard Alsop

Anita Langridge

Michael Clarke

Beverley Jones

Michael Cox (Principal)

Daniel Pailthorpe (Co-Principal)

Tomoka Mukai

Kathleen Stevenson

Imogen Smith

Alison Teale

Richard Hosford (Principal)

James Burke (Co-Principal)

Thomas Lessels (Principal)

Julie Price (Principal)

Susan Frankel

Steve Magee

Martin Owen (Principal)

Nicholas Korth (Co-Principal)

Michael Murray

Andrew Antcliff

Nicholas Hougham

Mark Wood

Alan Thomas (Principal)

Gareth Bimson (Co-Principal)

Martin Hurrell

Joseph Atkins

Helen Vollam (Principal)

Dan Jenkins

Robert O'Neill

Sam Elliott

Antoine Bedewi (Principal)

Christopher Hind (Co-Principal)

David Hockings (Principal)

Alex Neal (Co-Principal)

Fiona Ritchie

Louise Martin (Co-Principal)

Director Paul Hughes

Chief Producer Ann McKay

Assistant Producer Ben Warren

Orchestra Manager Susanna Simmons

Orchestra Personnel Manager Tom Alexander

Concerts Manager Marelle McCallum

Tours Manager Kathryn Aldersea

Planning Manager Tom Philpott

Choruses Manager Helen MacLeod

Business Affairs Executive Pamela Wise

Orchestra and Tours Assistant Lucie Tibbits

Music Libraries Manager Mark Millidge

Librarians Julia Simpson, Fiona Williams

Senior Stage Manager Rupert Casey

Stage Manager Chris Elliott

Head of Marketing, Publications and Learning Kate Finch

Communications Manager Camilla Dervan

Assistant Publicist Anna Hughes

Marketing Manager Sarah Hirons

Marketing Executives Jennifer Barrett, Charlotte Parr

Marketing Co-ordinator Eva Soans

Senior Learning Manager Helen White

Learning Managers Lauren Creed, Melanie Fryer

Learning Co-ordinators Rebecca Burns, Catherine Humphrey, Naomi Selwyn