Main content

Tectonics Rewind Weekend - 2 & 3 May

Music fans missing Glasgow’s Tectonics Festival can still get their hit of new and experimental music when the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra will share content from previous years to create a ‘virtual festival’ on Saturday 2 and Sunday 3 May. The Tectonics Rewind Weekend will take place on the dates scheduled for this year’s event which has been cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions.

From 3pm on Saturday, the orchestra, which has staged the festival since 2013, will post video and audio of complete performances throughout the day, as well as new and archive interviews. These will be available via the homepage. The running order – which is subject to change – is as follows:

Schedule DAY 1 (Sat 2nd May)

1500: Interview with Ilan Volkov, Alasdair Campbell (curators) by Kate Molleson

1515: Installations
Interviews and footage from the City Halls Recital Room Installations

c.1530: Nathalie Forget Plays Parmegiani
Ondist Nathalie Forget opens the weekend with a performance of Outremer by Bernard Parmegiani, a major figure in the development of 20th century electroacoustic music, and one of his key compositions.

Video from 2018

c.1600: Éliane Radigue: Chamber Works
Éliane Radigue is a pioneer of electronic music but since 2004 she has focused on writing music for acoustic instruments. In this session from 2015, a quartet of outstanding soloists perform a selection of her works including some from her OCCAM OCEAN series which were written specially for Tectonics Glasgow.

Occam XIII for bassoon solo
Dafne Vicente-Sandoval, bassoon

Occam river XII for cello and harp
Charles Curtis, cello
Rhodri Davies, harp

Occam river XI for cello and bassoon
Charles Curtis, cello
Dafne Vicente-Sandoval, bassoon

Occam XI for solo tuba
Robin Hayward, tuba

Occam delta IV for cello, harp and tuba
Charles Curtis, cello
Rhodri Davies, harp
Robin Hayward, tuba

c. 1715: Bill Wells: Summer Dreams
This arrangement of Summer Dreams by Scotland’s jazz iconoclast opened the festival in 2014 at St Andrews in the Square, Glasgow. He is accompanied by Aby Vulliamy on viola and members of the BBC SSO.

Bill Wells Summer Dreams
Bill Wells, piano
Aby Vulliamy, viola
Members of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

c.1730 Ánde Somby
Ánde Somby’s animal yoiks are inspired by the idea of transformation in the pre-Christian Sami religion - how a person could transform into an animal and back into a human. This solos performance from 2016 demonstrates this this ancient form of vocal expression.

c.1800 S.L.Á.T.U.R
S.L.Á.T.U.R. is a composer collective based in Reykjavík formed in 2005. Its members share ideas and methods freely but the final products are usually independent efforts. This is part of their performance from 2014. With Áki Ásgeirsson, Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir, Guðmundur Steinn Gunnarsson, Ingi Garðar Erlendsson, Kristín Þóra Haraldsdóttir, Páll Ivan frá Eiðum, and Þráinn Hjálmarsson.

Bergrún Snæbjörnsdóttir viti
Hlynur A. Vilmarsson Square Music
Jesper Pedersen Bottleneck
Páll Ivan frá Eiðum Reindeer new year (2014)
Ingi Garðar Erlendsson Steinn/Tennis
Áki Ásgeirsson 312°

c.1830 Meet the Artists : Day One
Kate Molleson interviews Catherine Lamb, Roscoe Mitchell, Linda Catlin Smith and Joe Posset about life in lockdown and their Tectonics experiences.

c.1900 BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
A selection of orchestral works from different years - many of them world premiere performances- featuring the BBC SSO and its Principal Guest Conductor, Ilan Volkov.

Linda Catlin Smith Wilderness (from 2017)
James Clarke Untitled No. 9 (from 2018)
Linda Catlin Smith Adagietto (from 2017)
Catherine Lamb Portions transparent/opaque for orchestra (from 2014)
Roscoe Mitchell Conversations (from 2017)*
Gianni Trovalusci, Flute *

Roscoe Mitchell, Saxophone *
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov, conductor

c.2100: Joe Posset’s ‘Grand Dictaphonic Jaxx For Four Players’
From 2018, Joe Posset explores the possibilities of multiple tape players, Dictaphone techniques and European text-sound. Performed with audio/visual artist AntMacari and the improvising duo, Acrid Lactations.

2130: Peter Brötzmann & Heather Leigh
Two fearless musicians capable of extreme dynamics and subtleties, Peter Brötzmann and Heather Leigh, play a freely improvised set for saxophone and pedal steel guitar.

Schedule DAY 2 (Sun 3rd May)

1430: Interview with Ilan Volkov, Alasdair Campbell (curators) by Kate Molleson

1445: Installations
More interviews and footage from the City Halls Recital Room Installations

1500; Syzygys
Formed in 1985, Syzygys – Hitomi Shimizu (43-microtone organ) and Hiromi Nishida (violin) - created “microtonal pop” for many years, were championed by John Zorn amongst others, and gained a cult following for music that was as hilarious as it was delightful. This set from 2018 was a rare UK appearance for them.

1600: Hildur Guðnadóttir
The Icelandic composer and performer (who won an Oscar this year for her score for Joker) talks to Kate Molleson before her solo set from 2013’s festival.

1700: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
More orchestral premieres from the BBC SSO and Ilan Volkov where they are joined by guitarist Stephen O’Malley and cellist Lori Goldston as well as a classic example of Alvin Lucier’s explorations of sound and acoustics.

Naomi Pinnock The Field is Woven (from 2018)

Alvin Lucier Exploration of the House (from 2013)

James Saunders alternate between attention and ease (from 2017)
with James Saunders & Tim Parkinson, electronics and vocals

Iancu Dumitrescu Elan and permanence (from 2013)
with Stephen O’Malley, electric guitar

Lori Goldston That Sunrise (from 2017)
Lori Goldston, cello

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov, conductor

c. 1900: Meet the Artists: Day 2
Kate Molleson interviews Naomi Pinnock, Lori Goldston and Christian Wolff about life in lockdown and their Tectonics experiences.

From 1930: Closing Performances
These final performances demonstrate the range of Tectonics: a set from Japanese electronics legend Takehisa Kosugi, rapturous singing from Exaudi; stillness and mystery from Julia Holter, Catherine Lamb and Laura Steenberge; a piece inspired by the mating rituals of the anglerfish from Tina Krekels and Adam Campbell: and The Necks improvise with the massed forces of the BBC SSO.

Cassandra Miller Guide for 8 voices
Christian Wolff Ashbery Madrigals for 8 voices
Performed by Exaudi, conducted by James Weeks (from 2014)

Julia Holter / Catherine Lamb / Laura Steenberge Triangulum (from 2017)

Tina Krekels/Adam Campbell Pardon, I have Tentacles (from 2018)

Takehisa Kosugi solo set (from 2014)

Tony Buck in conversation with Kate Molleson

The Necks: Elemental (from 2017)

Chris Abrahams, piano
Tony Buck, drums
Lloyd Swanton, bass
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor