Main content

Radio 2's Young Brass Award 2018

Young Brass Award winner 2018 Thomas Nielsen

We are thrilled to announce that the winner of the Young Brass Award 2018 is Thomas Nielsen on the Cornet.

Listen to the Young Brass Award Final (available until 20 May 2018)

The Young Brass Award final was broadcast live from the Royal Northern College of Music Manchester. The judges were conductor Nicholas Childs, Helen Vollam Principal Trombone BBC Symphony Orchestra and international trumpet soloist Andrew Crowley.

In no particular order, the finalists were:

Cameron Scott – Euphonium
Sam Dye – Trombone
Ross Dunne – Tenor Horn
Thomas Nielsen – Cornet

The semi-final took place in The Philharmonic Studio Salford on February 10 where the 8 semi-finalists recorded a 10 minute programme of their own choice and were accompanied by Foden’s Band Conductor Michael Fowles. The judges were Andrew Crowley and Russell Gray. The standard of entrants this year was very high and we’d like to thank everyone who took part!

Young Brass Award Alumni

Previous winners include trumpet player Matilda Lloyd who subsequently appeared at the BBC Proms; Ross Knight, who attended the The Karajan Academy in Berlin and performed with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra before becoming the Principal Tuba with Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in Geneva, and Daniel Thomas who plays with the world famous Black Dyke Band.