Main content

BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award Winners 2017

Five 2017 Carleton Hobbs bursaries have been awarded to:

ISABELLA INCHBALD (Drama Studio London)
ADAM FITZGERALD (Drama Studio London)
GARY DUNCAN (Italia Conti)
TAYLA KOVACEVIC-EBONG (Rose Bruford College)

They will join the Radio Drama Company on Saturday 22nd July 2017.

Four finalists receive runners-up awards - and each of them will be cast as a freelance actor in one of our autumn/winter productions:

LAUREN CORNELIUS (Drama Studio London)
MADELINE HATT (Guildford School of Acting)

Nineteen accredited Drama schools and colleges took part - a total of 76 students.

Chaired by Marc Beeby, Producer Radio Drama, the judges comprised Gemma Jenkins, Michelle Braidman, Philip Jackson and Rebecca Wilmshurst.

Hearty congratulations to all finalists and especially to Abbie, Isabella, Adam, Gary and Tayla with whom we look forward to working in the summer.

Special Commendations:

NEIL URQUHART (Italia Conti)
HENRY RUNDLE (Rose Bruford)

The full commendations list follows:

For Best Team Exercise - 2 colleges share commendations

Italia Conti – Sasha Clarke, Eimear O’Neill, Neil Urquhart, Gary Duncan
Drama Studio London – Isabella Inchbald, Adam Fitzgerald, Timothy Blore, Lauren Cornelius

Best solo in Shakespeare/or Classical Theatre category (2)

Gary Duncan – Italia Conti, Trinculo
Rebecca Tebbett – LAMDA, Hotspur

Special commendation for excellent prose sight-reading (6)

Ralph Davis - RADA, Wuthering Heights (1847)
Irfan Shamji - RADA, Letter from Cecil Slack (1916)
Kate Chambers - Oxford, Mary Stuart’s last letter (1587)
Sinead Sharkey - RCS, The Selfish Giant (1888)
Lauren Cornelius - DSL, Mary Stuart’s last letter (1587)
Isabella Inchbald - DSL, Letter from Vera Brittain (1916)

For other outstanding solo work (10)

Patricia Allison – East 15, Sister
Abbie Andrews – ALRA, Orla
Gary Duncan – Italia Conti, Fred
Tayla Kovacevic-Ebong – Rose Bruford, English Boy
Henry Rundle – Rose Bruford, Rab
Katherine Samuelson – Drama Centre, Keeley
Rujenne Green – Mountview, Paris
Madeline Hatt – Guildford, Mary Windrod
Yasmin Mwanza – Manchester, Young Woman

For the outstanding duologues….. there were 5 nominations:

Isabella Inchbald/ Adam Fitzgerald, BED by Brendan Cowell (DSL)
Timothy Blore/ Lauren Cornelius, BEAUTIFUL CONSUELA by Mandy Fenton (DSL)
Alice Kerrigan/ Afolabi Alli, MILK by Ross Dunmore (BOVTS)
Bethan Rose Young/ Stuart Nunn, REASONS TO BE HAPPY by Neil LaBute (RWCMD)
Tayla Kovacevic-Ebong/Jake Lampert, BLUE/ORANGE by Joe Penhall (Rose Bruford)