Main content

BBC SSO: Autumn 2020

We’re excited to share details of our planned season of online and on-air concerts for Autumn 2020. Broadcasting from our home at Glasgow City Halls, every concert will be live and available either to listen to on BBC Radio 3 and BBC Sounds, or to watch online.

Watch our Autumn 2020 preview

The BBC SSO presents 9 LIVE Thursday Concerts this Autumn.

  • 9 LIVE Thursday Concerts: 8 live on BBC Radio 3, and 5 streams to watch online
  • Artists include Principal Guest Conductor Ilan Volkov, Associate Conductor Alpesh Chauhan, Sir Mark Elder, Joana Carneiro, Isata Kanneh-Mason and Steven Isserlis
  • All concerts are LIVE and free to listen/watch

Due to government restrictions in Scotland, we cannot currently play to physical audiences. All performances and rehearsals are carried out under strict social distancing guidelines.

The season opens on Thursday 24 September at 7.30pm under our newly appointed Associate Conductor Alpesh Chauhan. Live on BBC Radio 3 and streamed online, the concert features symphonies by Prokofiev and Mendelssohn and works by Magnus Lindberg and Tippett.

Other plans for the season include: Isata Kanneh-Mason playing Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto; Nicholas Collon conducting the composer’s ‘Pastoral Symphony’ and music by Bacewicz; Shostakovich 14 under Mark Wigglesworth; and an all-Britten programme with Martyn Brabbins. Sir Mark Elder returns to the BBC SSO for the first time since the late '90s, with a concert that includes Schrecker’s Chamber Symphony.

Autumn 2020: Full Details

Browse the full details of all concerts in the orchestra's Autumn 2020 Season