Main content

BBC Norman Beaton Fellowship Winners 2019

Radio Drama is delighted to announce that 2019's winners are:


Sinead came to the event via a workshop with Citizens Theatre, Glasgow; Adam via a workshop with Theatre Royal Stratford East, London; and Ikky via a workshop with Tamasha, London. They join the Radio Drama Company on Saturday 20th July 2019, along with this year’s BBC Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award winners: Laura Christy, Lucy Reynolds, Scarlett Courtney, Greg Jones and Will Kirk.

This year, the judges awarded three runners-up prizes to NBF finalists. Their names and the theatres through whose workshops they joined NBF 2019 are below:

AMY BENTLEY-KLEIN – Theatre Royal Stratford East
MARILYN NNADEBE – National Youth Theatre Rep
TIFE KUSORO – Talawa, London

Each will be cast via a freelance engagement in one of Radio Drama's 2019~20 productions.

This year, nine theatre companies from around the UK joined forces with Radio Drama in workshopping talent new to Radio: Kabosh Belfast, Sherman Theatre Cardiff, Birmingham Repertory Theatre, Citizens Theatre Glasgow, Royal Exchange Manchester, Theatre Royal Stratford East, Talawa Theatre Company, Tamasha Theatre Company and the National Youth Theatre Rep.

From the many actors who took part, 12 finalists were auditioned on 19th March 2019 at Broadcasting House London by this year's judges who were Tracey Neale (Drama Producer and Chair), Marc Beeby (Drama Producer), Michelle Braidman (agent), Jason Barnett (actor) and Rebecca Wilmshurst (Drama Production Executive).

Our thanks and warm wishes to the other six Finalists with whom we enjoyed working on the Finals Day:

• Dylan Blore – Citizens, Glasgow
• Ryan Walker-Edwards – Birmingham Rep
• Dearbhaile McKinney – Kabosh, Belfast
• Andrew McCracken – Kabosh, Belfast
• Rachel Clarke – Talawa
• Lissa Berry – Sherman Theatre Cardiff