Main content

Welcome to the BBC Audio Drama Awards

Celebrating the best of audio drama in the UK

About the awards

The BBC Audio Drama Awards were established in 2012 to pay tribute to the cultural importance of audio drama, on air and online, and are intended to give recognition to the actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in the genre.

The awards are judged by experts from across the industry, including Dame Harriet Walter, Andrew Davies and Ruth Jones.

The 2012 and 2013 awards were presented by David Tennant, from 2014 - 2016 by Lenny Henry and in 2017 by Tracy Ann Oberman.

Previous winners include Sian Phillips, Marcus Brigstocke, Andrew Scott, Michelle Fairley, Neil Gaiman, Alfred Molina, Monica Dolan, John Hurt, June Whitfield and Sir Ian McKellen.

Imison and Tinniswood Awards

The BBC is delighted also to be joining forces again with the Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to announce the winners of this year’s Imison Award for best original radio drama by a writer new to radio and the Tinniswood Award for best original radio drama script.