Main content

The 2018 Finalists

The finalists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2018 have been revealed, with Dangerous Visions, Home Front and Midnight's Children all featuring in the line-up. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House, London, on the evening of Sunday 28 January 2018. Music will be provided by the Dodge Brothers.

The BBC Audio Drama Awards – presented by the BBC together with the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain – celebrate the range, originality and cut-through quality of audio drama on air and online and give recognition to the creativity of actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in this genre.

Each category is judged by a team of industry experts including actors Ruth Jones and Paterson Joseph, Newsnight presenter Emily Maitlis, and writer David Eldridge. Now in their seventh year, the Audio Drama Awards have previously recognised such luminaries and programmes as Bill Nighy, Neil Gaiman, June Whitfield and The Archers.

Best Single Drama

  • Dangerous Visions: Culture by Al Smith, producer Sally Avens, BBC Radio Drama London
  • The Music Lesson by Hannah Silva, producer Melanie Harris, Sparklab Productions
  • The Red by Marcus Brigstocke, producer Caroline Raphael, Pier Productions

Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)

  • Black Eyed Girls by Katie Hims, producer Sasha Yevtushenko, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Dangerous Visions: Resistance by Val McDermid, producer Sue Roberts, BBC Radio Drama North
  • Home Front by Katie Hims and Sarah Daniels, producer Jessica Dromgoole, BBC Radio Drama Birmingham

Best Adaptation

  • A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess, producer Gary Brown, BBC Radio Drama North
  • Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie, adapted by Ayeesha Menon, producers Tracey Neale and Emma Harding, BBC Radio Drama London
  • Terrible Beauty by Gerald Doyle, adapted and produced by Bernard Clarke, RTE Lyric FM

Best Actor

  • Paapa Essiedu, Wide Open Spaces
  • John Hurt, The Invisible Man Chapter 1
  • Nikesh Patel, Midnight's Children

Best Actress

  • Christine Bottomley, Solitary
  • Anastasia Hille, Long Day’s Journey into Night
  • Julia McKenzie, John Finnemore’s Double Acts: Mercy Dash

Best Supporting Actor/Actress

  • Roger Allam, The Government Inspector
  • Amelia Bullmore, The Beard
  • Rupert Evans, Long Day’s Journey into Night

Best Debut Performance

  • Andrew Leung, Prime Cut
  • Kate Phillips, Gudrun’s Saga
  • Sabrina Sandhu, Black Eyed Girls

Best Use of Sound

  • Dangerous Visions: Kafka’s Metamorphosis, sound by Nigel Lewis, producer James Robinson, BBC Cymru Wales
  • Midnight’s Children, sound by Peter Ringrose, Anne Bunting, Jenni Burnett, producers Tracey Neale and Emma Harding, BBC Radio Drama London
  • War of the Worlds, sound by Cal Knightley, Mike Etherden, Alison Craig, producer Marc Beeby, BBC Radio Drama London

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

  • Liam Williams: Ladhood by Liam Williams, producer Joseph Nunnery, BBC Studios
  • The Penny Dreadfuls Present: Le Carre on Spying by David Reed, producer Julia McKenzie, BBC Studios
  • Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy by Sarah Kendall, producer Carl Cooper, BBC Studios

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

  • The Absolutely Radio Show by Morwenna Banks, Pete Baikie, Moray Hunter, Gordon Kennedy and John Sparkes, producers Gordon Kennedy and Gus Beattie, an Absolutely Gusman Production
  • Harry and Paul Present: The Gentlemen’s Club by Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse, producer Sam Bryant, BBC Studios
  • It’s Jocelyn by Jocelyn Jee Esien, Liam Beirn, Laura Major, Tom Coles, Ed Amsden and Sarah Campbell, producer Suzy Grant, BBC Studios

Best Online/Podcast Only

  • Can’t Get You Out Of My Head, written by Charlotte Bogard MacLeod, producer David Hunter (BBC Online)
  • Inside Donald Trump, producers Claire Broughton and Andy Hamilton (Hat Trick Productions/Unbound, podcast on Soundcloud and iTunes)
  • Rathband: A Digital Tragedy, producers Jeremy Mortimer and John Wakefield, podcast on iTunes etc

Imison Award for Best Audio Drama Script by a New Writer

Judges: Stefan Buczacki, Jamila Gavin, Isla Gray, Catherine Johnson, Christopher William Hill, Nell Leyshon, David Morley, Hilary Robinson, Mike Walker and Elizabeth-Anne Wheal

  • Adam Usden for The Book of Yehudit
  • Jane Wainwright for Wide Open Spaces

Tinniswood Award for Best Audio Drama Script

Judges: Hardeep Singh Kohli, Colin Teevan and Jane Thynne

  • David Eldridge for Jenny Lomas
  • John Finnemore for Double Acts: Penguin Diplomacy
  • Sarah Woods for Borderland

Drama and Storytelling on Radio 4