Main content

BBC Audio Drama Awards 2016 Finalists

Best Audio Drama (Original Single)

Cuttin’ It, by Charlene James, producer Jessica Brown
Dream of White Horses, by Linda Marshall Griffiths, producer Nadia Molinari
Monster, by Tony Pitts, producer Sally Harrison

Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)

A Fine Balance, by Rohinton Mistry, dramatized by Ayeesha Menon & Kewel Karim, producer John Dryden
Children in Need: D for Dexter, by Amanda Whittington, producer Mary Ward-Lowery
War and Peace, dramatized by Timberlake Wertenbaker from Leo Tolstoy, producer Celia de Wolff

Best Audio Drama (Adaptation)

Between the Ears: Mr Rainbow, dramatized by Sebastian Baczkiewicz from Franz Kafka, producer
Joby Waldman
King Charles III, by Mike Bartlett, producer Toby Swift
The Master and Margarita, by Mikhail Bulgakov, dramatized by Lucy Catherine, producer Sasha Yevtushenko

Best Actor in an Audio Drama

Alfred Molina in A View from the Bridge
Anton Lesser in Vampyre Man
Nico Mirallegro in Orpheus and Eurydice

Best Actress in an Audio Drama

Eve Myles in Frank and the Bear
Monica Dolan in Vincent in Brixton
Sue Johnston in Love in Recovery

Best Supporting Actor or Actress in an Audio Drama

Billy Kennedy in Home Front
Mark Strong in Unmade Movies: Harold Pinter’s Victory
Susan Wokoma in Three Strong Women

Best Debut Performance in an Audio Drama

Eleanor Tomlinson in Dead Girls Tell No Tales
Karen Bartke in My Name Is…
Richard Hawley in Monster

Best Use of Sound in an Audio Drama

Fugue State, sound by Julian Simpson and David Thomas, producer Karen Rose
Mayday Mayday, composer Aaron May, producer Becky Ripley
Fright Night: Ring, sound by Catherine Robinson, producer James Robinson

Best Scripted Comedy Drama

Cabin Pressure – Finale (Zurich), by John Finnemore, producer David Tyler
In and Out of the Kitchen, by Justin Edwards, producer Sam Michell
The Dad Who Fell to Earth, by Toby Hadoke, producer Charlotte Riches

Best Scripted Comedy with a Live Audience

Dead Ringers, by Bill Dare, Jim Farthing, Jon Culshaw, Debra Stephenson, Lewis MacLeod
The Penny Dreadfuls Present: Macbeth Rebothered, by David Reed with Humphrey Ker
Reluctant Persuaders Ep 3, by Chris Pye

Best Online Only Audio Drama

Hood: King’s Command, by Spiteful Puppet Entertainment Ltd
The Omega Factor: The Old Gods, by Big Finish
The Kindness of Time, by Rosie Boulton

Imison Award for Best Radio Drama Script by a New Writer
Society of Authors

30 Eggs by Eoin O’Connor
A Thing Inside a Thing Inside a Thing by Iain AJ Ross
The Churchill Barriers by Emma Spurgin Hussey

Tinniswood Award for Best Radio Drama Script

Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain

Far Side of the Moore by Sean Grundy
Vampyre Man by Joseph O’Connor
Fugue State by Julian Simpson