Messi beats Ronaldo and Neymar to win Ballon d'Or title

Last updated at 07:53
Lionel Messi has won the FIFA Ballon d'Or awardGetty Images

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi has won the FIFA Ballon d'Or award beating Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo and Barca's Neymar to the title of best footballer in the world.

It's the fifth time that Messi has won the award.

The Ballon d'Or is given out every year to the male football player who is thought to have performed the best in the last year.

The FIFA Ballon d'Or 2013 (Golden ball) trophy is displayed at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on January 13, 2014, ahead of the Ballon d'Or award ceremony.AFP/Getty Images

To decide who gets the award, coaches from national teams and captains as well as journalists from all over the world vote for a player of their choice.

For the past five years it's been a battle between Messi and Ronaldo for the top spot.

USA's World Cup-winning midfielder Carli Lloyd, won the women's world player of the year award.

To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.
Carli Lloyd wins women's world player of the year award