Last updated at 13:32

New Year fireworks: New Zealand and Australia welcome in 2016

To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.

New Zealand was one of the first countries to welcome in 2016, with people gathered in Auckland to watch a colourful fireworks display.

Australia followed, with Sydney Harbour providing the backdrop to a spectacular show.

Elsewhere security is being stepped up in major European cities ahead of New Year celebrations.

New Year fireworks and festivities have been cancelled in the Belgian capital Brussels because of a security alert. Extra protection is being put in place in other cities, including Paris, London, Berlin and Moscow for people celebrating.