New Zealand win Rugby World Cup

Last updated at 11:02
New Zealand huddle round the Webb Ellis CupPA
New Zealand backed up their 2011 win and are rugby union's first three-time world champions

New Zealand held off a fierce Australian comeback to win a thrilling World Cup final and become the first team to retain their title.

The match at Twickenham saw the All Blacks win 34 - 17 over Australia.

Tevita Kuridrani scores Australia's second tryGetty Images
Tevita Kuridrani's try gave Australia real hope, but New Zealand regained control

Tries from Nehe Milner-Skudder and Ma'a Nonu had given the All Blacks a 21-3 lead early in the second half before David Pocock and Tevita Kuridrani struck back.

Dan Carter's penalty kickReuters
Dan Carter's penalty helped New Zealand regain control

With 15 minutes to go there were just four points in it, but a long-distance drop-goal and penalty from Dan Carter snatched back control.

Beauden Barrett scores for New Zealand as they beat AustraliaAP
Beauden Barrett's last-gasp try was the icing on the cake for the world champion All Blacks

And when replacement Beauden Barrett sprinted away to score a try in the final moments of the match, history was made.

The win also meant that New Zealand have become world champions for a record third time.