Jonjo Shelvey and Jamie Vardy named in England squad

Last updated at 10:39
Jonjo ShelveyGetty Images
Jonjo Shelvey won his only England cap against San Marino in 2012

Swansea midfielder Jonjo Shelvey has been recalled by Roy Hodgson to the England squad for Euro 2016 qualifiers against San Marino and Switzerland.

Shelvey won his only cap against San Marino in 2012.

Also returning are Stoke goalkeeper Jack Butland, Manchester United pair Luke Shaw and Michael Carrick and Tottenham forward Harry Kane.

England are away to San Marino on 5 September before playing Switzerland at Wembley three days later.

Jamie VardyGetty Images
Leicester's Jamie Vardy is the only forward in the squad with a Premier League goal this season

Hodgson's side have a 100% record from their six qualification games and need one win to confirm their place at next year's finals in France.

The England boss said: "The players must keep going, play well and look to win every match. I don't want any let up and we want to win both these games."

Club Brugge v Manchester United - UEFA Champions League Qualifying Play-Off Second Leg - Jan Breydel Stadium, Bruges, Belgium - 26/8/15 Wayne Rooney celebrates the fourth goal for Manchester UnitedReuters
Captain Wayne Rooney will be hoping that he can get on the score sheet for England in the next couple of games

A host of players from that squad are missing, including new Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson and injured Arsenal pair Jack Wilshere and Danny Welbeck, while Manchester United defender Phil Jones is also unavailable.

QPR forward Charlie Austin is not selected after scoring four goals in five games in the Championship.

England squad to face San Marino and Switzerland:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones, Phil Jagielka (Both Everton).

Midfielders: Michael Carrick (Manchester United), James Milner (Liverpool), Ross Barkley (Everton), Jonjo Shelvey (Swansea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling, Fabian Delph (Both Manchester City), Ryan Mason (Tottenham).

Forwards: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Jamie Vardy (Leicester), Theo Walcott (Arsenal).