Ballon d'Or: Gareth Bale on Fifa world player shortlist

Last updated at 12:52
Gareth BaleGetty Images
Gareth Bale scored 22 goals for Real Madrid last season

Wales forward Gareth Bale is the only player from the home nations on the 23-man shortlist for the Fifa 2014 men's world footballer of the year award which is known as the Ballon d'Or.

Gareth scored 22 goals for Real Madrid last season, as the La Liga side won the Champions League.

Chelsea trio Thibaut Courtois, Diego Costa and Eden Hazard, Manchester United's Angel Di Maria, and Manchester City's Yaya Toure have also been nominated for the award.

The award is known as the Ballon d'Or, which is French for 'Golden Ball'.

Cristiano RonaldoGetty Images
Cristiano Ronaldo won the Ballon d'Or in 2013 after being runner-up twice

Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo will be looking to retain the award he won last year.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi, who has won the award three times in the last four years, is also on the shortlist, alongside team-mate Neymar.

The 23 shortlist will be reduced to three in December before the winners are announced on 12 January, 2015 in Zurich, Switzerland.

Real Madrid and Bayern Munich players dominate the list, with each club supplying six players.

World Cup winners Germany have the most players nominated with six, with Spain and Argentina three apiece and France and Belgium two each.

Wales, Portugal, Sweden, Brazil, Netherlands, Colombia and Ivory Coast each have one of their players in contention.

Louis Van GaalALlsport/getty images
Man United manager Louis van Gaal is in the running for coach of the year

Carlo Ancelotti, who guided Real Madrid to the Champions League has been nominated for the coach of the year award.

Chelsea's Jose Mourinho, Manchester City's Manuel Pellegrini and Manchester United boss Louis van Gaal, who guided Netherlands to the third place in the World Cup, are also on the 10-man list for the coach award, alongside World Cup winning coach Joachim Low.

Fifa world men's player of the year shortlist: Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Argentina, Manchester United), Mario Gotze (Germany, Bayern Munich), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris St-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Philipp Lahm (Germany, Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina, Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany, Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Arjen Robben (Netherlands, Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia, Real Madrid), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany, Bayern Munich), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast, Manchester City).

Fifa coach of the year shortlist: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), Antonio Conte (Juventus/Italy national team), Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich), Jurgen Klinsmann (USA national team), Joachim Low (Germany national team), Jose Mourinho (Chelsea), Manuel Pellegrini (Manchester City), Alejandro Sabella (Argentina national team), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Louis van Gaal (Netherlands national team/Manchester United).