Authors challenge for children's award

Last updated at 07:31
David Walliams, Malorie BlackmanPA/BBC
Walliams and Blackman both feature on the children's shortlist

David Walliams, Malorie Blackman and Debi Gliori are among the authors on this year's shortlist for the Red House Children's Book Award.

The prize, which is divided into three categories, is the only national award for children's books that is voted for entirely by children.

On the shortlist for younger children, Debi Gliori is joined by Mo Willems and the pairings of Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt, and Steve Cole and Bruce Ingman.

To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.
Newsround spoke to David Walliams last year about his books

David Walliams - who has topped the list of bestselling children's books in the UK for the past four weeks - is shortlisted alongside Megan Rix and newcomer Pamela Butchart in the category for younger readers.

Finally, children's laureate Malorie Blackman will go up against with Stuart Hill and former winner Sophie McKenzie in the older category.

Previous winners of the famous prize include JK Rowling, Patrick Ness and Michael Morpurgo.


Books for younger children

Dragon Loves Penguin - Debi Gliori

The Day the Crayons Quit - Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt

Go to Sleep or I Let Loose The Leopard - Steve Cole and Bruce Ingman

That Is Not a Good Idea - Mo Willems

Books for younger readers

Baby Aliens Got My Teacher - Pamela Butchart

The Bomber Dog - Megan Rix

Demon Dentist - David Walliams

Books for older readers

Noble Conflict - Malorie Blackman

Prince of the Icemark - Stuart Hill

Split Second - Sophie McKenzie