Germany win fourth World Cup

Last updated at 06:05
To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.
World Cup 2014: Germany 1-0 Argentina (aet) highlights

Germany were crowned world champions for the fourth time as they scored in extra-time to beat Argentina in the 2014 World Cup final.

Mario Gotze put away a left-foot volley, with only seven minutes left on the clock, becoming the first substitute ever to score in a World Cup final.

Argentina, with captain Lionel Messi largely quiet throughout the game, could not respond and Germany claimed their first World Cup since they beat the same opponents 24 years ago.

The success means the Germans have become the first European team to win the trophy in South America.

GotzeGetty Images
World Cup final: Argentina captain Lionel MessiAFP
World CupReuters

The German victory sparked huge celebrations back home. More than 250,000 German fans are estimated to have watched their country's win at Berlin's famous Brandenburg Gate.

Match facts

  • Germany have won the World Cup for a fourth time. Only Brazil (5) have more wins.
  • Argentina failed to have a shot on target in a World Cup game for the first time since the 1990 final v West Germany.
  • Germany's total of 18 goals is the most in a World Cup since Brazil scored 18 in 2002.
  • Argentina conceded a goal in extra time at the World Cup for the first time.
  • Germany are the first European team to win a World Cup in the Americas.