Murray wins Sports Personality of the Year

Last updated at 06:55
To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.
Andy Murray wins Sports Personality

Scottish tennis player Andy Murray, has been voted the 2013 BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

The 26-year-old became the first male British player in 77 years to win the Wimbledon title in July when he beat Novak Djokovic in straight sets.

Murray, who is in Miami training, was awarded the trophy by 18-time Grand Slam champion Martina Navratilova.

Wales and British & Irish Lions rugby union player Leigh Halfpenny was runner-up, with jockey AP McCoy third.

Murray said: "I'd like to thank all the public who voted, for giving me so much support over the last couple of years, it's made a huge difference."

Winners of the past 10 years

2013: Andy Murray (tennis)

2012: Bradley Wiggins (cycling)

2011: Mark Cavendish (cycling)

2010: AP McCoy (horse racing)

2009: Ryan Giggs (football)

2008: Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)

2007: Joe Calzaghe (boxing)

2006: Zara Phillips (equestrian)

2005: Andrew Flintoff (cricket)

2004: Dame Kelly Holmes (athletics)