World Cup 2014 - Which teams have made it?

Last updated at 07:54
To enjoy the CBBC Newsround website at its best you will need to have JavaScript turned on.
Find out who's playing in Brazil 2014

In the beginning there were more than 200, and now there are just 32 - the final spot in the 2014 World Cup goes to Uruguay.

So who's in and who is out? Check out the Newsround guide to the teams that made it to 'the greatest show on Earth'.

Who has qualified?

Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria

Asia: Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea

Europe: Belgium, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Switzerland

North & Central America & Caribbean: Costa Rica, Honduras, United States, Mexico

South America: Argentina, Brazil (hosts), Colombia, Ecuador, Chile and Uruguay

Most impressive qualifiers: Ghana were the top scorers with 18 goals in six group matches and managed more points (15) than any other country in their region.

Lucky to be there? Algeria knocked out Burkina Faso on away goals after a 3-3 draw in their play-off tie - and had a close escape in stoppage time when a clearance struck their own crossbar.

Top scorers: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Mohamed Aboutrika, Mohamed Salah (both Egypt) - six goals

Who missed out?

The list is long...

Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Congo, Congo DR, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

What's next?

The official draw - which decides who will play who in the event - will take place on 6 December at the Costa do Sauipe resort in the Brazilian state of Bahia.

The World Cup will be staged in Brazil from 12 June-13 July, 2014 in 12 host cities.