2013 Uefa Women's European Championship kicks off in Sweden

Last updated at 08:13
MOTD Kickabout Euro special logo

The Women's Euro Championship kicks off today in Sweden, with the host nation taking on Denmark and Italy going up against Finland.

England start their quest on Friday when they play Spain - and they'll aim to improve on their runners-up spot four years ago.

But in these championships it's Germany that are the favourites - they've already won the last five Euros!

They face the Netherlands on Thursday, aiming for a sixth title in a row.

Make sure you watch MOTD Kickabout on the CBBC channel at 7.40 this Saturday morning for the first of three special Women's Euros shows.

Which teams are playing each other in the group stages?

Twelve teams are split into three groups, with the top two in each group going through to the quarter-finals along with two best second-placed teams.

Group A: Sweden, Italy, Denmark, Finland

Group B: Germany, Norway, Netherlands, Iceland

Group C: France, England, Russia, Spain