Paralympics men's 100m final: the contenders

Last updated at 12:28
Men's 100m T44 HeatsAFP

The men's T44 100m race is tipped to be one of the most exciting finals of the Paralympics, but who will take the top spot on the podium?

All eight finalists are capable of running the distance in under 11 seconds and are either classified as T43 or T44, depending on their level of disability.

Oscar Pistoruis

Oscar Pistorius holding the South African flagAFP

The 25-year-old South African is the defending champion after winning gold in the event in Beijing.

He qualified with the second-quickest time for the T44 final and has already won silver in the 200m final and gold in the relay.

Not only is he a world record holder for the T43 classification (10.91 seconds), but he's also the only double amputee to have competed in the Olympics and the Paralympics!

Jonnie Peacock

Jonnie Peacock sitting on the trackPA

A star of ParalympicsGB, Peacock is definitely one to watch.

He is the T44 100m world record holder, with a speed of 10.85 seconds.

The 19-year-old has been nicknamed the "Usain Bolt of the Paralympics" and qualified fastest in the heats, with a time of 11.08 seconds.

Alan Oliveira

Alan Oliveira holding the Brazilian flagAFP

The Brazilian defeated Pistorius to win gold in the 200m final on Sunday.

His shock victory caused Pistorius to complain about the length of his blades.

The 20-year-old already had a silver medal in his collection from the 4x100m relay in Beijing.

Blake Leeper

Blake Leeper running in the 200mAFP

The US sprinter, 23, took bronze in the 200m final.

He currently holds the joint T43 100m world record along with Pistorius.

Arnu Fourie

Arnu Fourie running in the 100m heatsGetty Images

The South African 27-year-old set a new T44 200m world record on Sunday, crossing the line in just 11.09 seconds.

He's also Pistorius's room-mate for the competition!

Others in the final

China's Zhiming Liu, and Americans Jerome Singleton and Richard Brownie, will also be lining-up for the show stopping sprint.