London 2012: Jason Kenny chosen over Chris Hoy for sprint

Last updated at 06:20
Jason Kenny and Sir Chris HoyGetty Images

Jason Kenny has been selected to ride the individual sprint for Team GB at the London 2012 track cycling instead of Olympic champion Sir Chris Hoy.

The decision means Hoy will only be able to defend two of the three titles he won in Beijing in 2008.

Kenny has chosen after defeating Hoy at this year's World Championships.

Sir Chris Hoy said; "They made the right call. It is not about individual ambition it's about the team getting the most number of gold medals. They have picked the best sprinter."

British Cycling performance director Dave Brailsford said: "Both Chris and Jason are on great form and that made it a difficult choice but we have decided to select Jason to contest the sprint and Chris will concentrate on the keirin.

"We believe this gives us the strongest team possible going into the Games."

Hoy, whose last world sprint title came in 2008, will instead concentrate on the keirin, an event in which he is the reigning world and Olympic champion.

Full Team GB track cycling line-up:

Men's team sprint: Philip Hindes, Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, (reserve - Ross Edgar)

Women's team sprint: Victoria Pendleton, Jess Varnish, (reserve - Becky James)

Men's team pursuit: Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Pete Kennaugh, Andy Tennant, Geraint Thomas

Women's team pursuit: Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King, Joanna Rowsell, Laura Trott

Men's sprint: Jason Kenny

Women's sprint: Victoria Pendleton

Men's keirin: Sir Chris Hoy

Women's keirin: Victoria Pendleton

Men's omnium: Ed Clancy

Women's omnium: Laura Trott