US elections 2010: Full results


Full results from the Associated Press. The BBC may call some of the remaining results independently, raising the possibility of discrepancies between the AP map and BBC News election coverage.

All 435 seats in the House of Representatives were up for election, as well as 37 Senate seats, and 37 states were also electing governors.

Nineteen Senate seats held by Democrats were contested: Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Nevada, New York (X2), North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin.

Eighteen Senate seats held by Republicans were contested: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah.

Governors were being elected in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin and Wyoming.