Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Isle of Man General Election 2016: Polls open

Tynwald Buildings Douglas, Isle of Man Image copyright
Image caption It will be the first Manx general election using the new boundary guidelines approved in 2013

Polling stations across the Isle of Man have opened for the general election.

Sixty-three candidates - 50 men and 13 women - are trying to secure one of the 24 seats in the House of Keys.

Members of the House of Keys (MHKs) can propose new laws and raise issues that matter to their constituents in the Manx parliament, known as Tynwald.

Polling stations will be open across the island's 12 constituencies until 20:00 BST, with the results expected to be declared late on Thursday evening.

The BBC will provide a comprehensive live results, reaction and analysis service on its website, while Manx Radio will be on air from 18:00 with a special election broadcast. The election will also be covered by North West Tonight and on social media.

Most candidates stand as independents, but there are registered political parties on the island.

Two MHKs will be elected from each of the 12 constituencies, making a change from previous elections when MHKs were unevenly distributed across the island.

The Isle of Man is almost entirely self-governing, and MHKs will control virtually every aspect of public life from law and order to health provision.

Successful candidates will serve a term of five years and will be sworn in at Tynwald on 27 September.

Here is a list of the candidates standing for election.

Isle of Man General Election Candidates 2016
Arbory, Castletown and Malew
Richard Stephen McAleer Independent
Philip Anderson Gawne Independent
Graham Derek Cregeen Independent
Carol Barbara Quine Manx Labour Party
Jason Robert Moorhouse Independent
Carl James Parker Independent
Stephen Raymond Crowther Independent
Ayre and Michael
Patrick Stephen Ayres Liberal Vannin Party
Timothy Simon Baker Independent
Alfred Louis Cannan Independent
Alan Kermode Independent
Carlos Phillips Independent
Louise Elizabeth Whitlegg Independent
Douglas Central
Kurt Buchholz Independent
Kathrine Anne Corlett Independent
George Richard John Falk Independent
Sara Dawn Andrea Hackman Independent
Kim Michelle Inglis Independent
Charles Christopher Thomas Independent
Douglas East
Clare Louise Battison Independent
Quintin Bennett Gill Independent
Richard Fredrick Halsall Manx Labour Party
Jonathan Joughin Independent
John Caley McBride Independent
Christopher Roy Robertshaw Independent
Catherine Rose Turner Independent Green
Amanda Jane Walker Independent
Douglas North
Angela Karen Independent
David John Ashford Independent
John Ramsey Houghton Independent
George Ralph Peake Independent
Lynn Sirdefield Manx Labour Party
Douglas South
Kate Kathleen Joan Beecroft Liberal Vannin Party
David Anthony Fowler Independent
Keith Daryl Fitton Independent
William Mackay Malarkey Independent
Andrew Barton Independent
Daphne Hilary Penelope Caine Independent
Nigel Anthony Dobson Independent
Martyn John Perkins Independent
Andrew Joseph Smith Independent
Glenfaba and Peel
Geoffrey Boot Independent
Leslie Lucas Alfred Hanson Independent
Raymond Karl Harmer Independent
William Edward Bowers Independent
Paul Herbert Craine Independent
Robert Howard Quayle Independent
William Catto Shimmins Independent
Anthony Allen Independent
Rob Edwards Callister Independent
Timothy Roy Craig Independent
Julie Marie Edge Liberal Vannin Party
David John Quirk Independent
Alexander John Allinson Independent
Nicholas Lyndon Crowe Independent
Lawrie Lee Hooper Liberal Vannin Party
John David McDonough Independent
Leonard Ian Singer Independent
Leo Simon Cussons Independent
James William Hampton Independent
Mark Ian Kemp Independent
Laurence David Skelly Independent
Juan Paul Watterson Independent

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites