Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Dr John Taylor: 'Time-eating clock' inventor honoured

Dr John Taylor received award Image copyright Gerard Sharp Photography
Image caption John Taylor said he was "honoured" to have his achievements recognised

An inventor who designed and made a series of "time-eating clocks" to "make time-keeping interesting again" has been recognised for his work.

John Taylor, from the Isle of Man, said he was "honoured" to receive the Harrison Medal by the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers.

The medal has only been awarded to six other people and commemorates outstanding achievement in horology.

The 79-year-old's clocks are valued at several million pounds each.

His unique clocks, which have no hands or numbers, feature giant creatures including a grasshopper and a dragon which appear to eat time.

The "chronophage", meaning "time eater", advances around the clock face, with each step marking a second.

Media playback is unsupported on your device
Media captionHis most recent 'time-eater' clock was valued at about £3m

Prolific inventor Dr Taylor has more than 400 patents to his name.

His most famous creation is the bimetal thermostat control inside electric kettles - more than two billion have been sold worldwide.

Founded in 1631, the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers is the oldest horological institution in the world.

Previous recipients of the Harrison Medal include the renowned astronomer and physicist Sir Arnold Wolfendale FRS and horologists Jonathan Betts MBE and David Thompson.

Philip Whyte, The Master of the Company, said it was a "pleasure to recognise such a deserving recipient, whose efforts and contribution to the scholarship and understanding of clock and watchmaking in recent years cannot be understated."

The award is named after John Harrison, who invented the marine chronometer.

Harrison Medal recipients

2002 - Jonathan Betts for his work furthering horological knowledge

2004 - Dava Sobel for her internationally acclaimed book on John Harrison

2006 - Sir Arnold Wolfendale for his outstanding work and inspirational leadership

2007 - William Andrewes for his distinguished career and internationally acclaimed work

2009 - David Thompson for services to the history and technology of horology

2012 - David Poole for work in the education of horologists of all ages

2015 - Dr John Taylor for outstanding achievements in the field of horology

Source: Worshipful Company of Clockmakers

Related Topics

More on this story