Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Allan Bell is elected the Isle of Man's chief minister

Allan Bell will lead the Isle of Man government for the next five years after being elected as the island's chief minister in Tynwald on Tuesday.

Ramsey MHK Mr Bell won a clear majority over the Liberal Vannin party leader Peter Karran.

Mr Bell was proposed by Ayre MHK Eddie Teare and seconded by newly elected Rushen MHK Laurence Skelly.

The 64-year-old will succeed Tony Brown, who announced his retirement at September's Manx General Election.

The former treasury and economic development minister received 27 votes in favour in the secret ballot, with three cast in favour of Mr Karran and two papers spoiled.

That vote was then confirmed in an electronic vote taken in public, with Mr Bell receiving 29 votes.

'Great honour'

Following his election by Tynwald, Mr Bell was formally appointed by the Lieutenant Governor, His Excellency Mr Adam Wood.

Mr Bell said: "It is a great honour to be appointed chief minister at this time of challenge and opportunity for the Isle of Man.

"The challenge is to rebalance the government's budget and maintain the development and diversification of the island's economy in a difficult global environment.

"The opportunity is to make changes that will secure the future of the Isle of Man as a competitive and responsible centre for international business."

Mr Bell is the longest serving Member of the House of Keys, having represented Ramsey since 1984.

He has experience in a number of ministerial roles including tourism, industry and home affairs, and served as treasury minister from 2001 to 2010, when he became the island's first economic development minister.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites