Guernsey States committee presidents voted in

New committee presidents
Image caption Clockwise from top left: Peter Ferbrache, Paul le Pelley, Michelle le Clerc, Mary Lowe, Heidi Soulsby, Barry Brehaut

Politicians have elected 11 of the 12 presidents for the new States bodies.

Peter Ferbrache, Paul le Pelley, Michelle le Clerc, Barry Brehaut, Heidi Soulsby and Mary Lowe will lead the six principal committees in Guernsey.

They are Economic Development; Education, Sport and Culture; Employment and Social Security; Environment and Infrastructure; Health and Social Care; and Home Affairs.

States members also voted in the presidents of five smaller assemblies.

Several candidates were elected unopposed. The election for the president of the Transport Licensing Authority has been deferred until Wednesday.

The make up of the Policy and Resources Committee - the president of which holds the island's highest political position - was decided last week.

BBC News App users: Click here to see the full results

Guernsey committee presidents at 11 May 2016
Committee Deputy's name
Economic Development Peter Ferbrache
Education, Sport and Culture Paul le Pelley
Employment and Social Security Michelle le Clerc
Environment and Infrastructure Barry Brehaut
Health and Social Care Heidi Soulsby
Home Affairs Mary Lowe
Scrutiny Management Committee Chris Green
Development and Planning Authority John Gollop
States' Assembly & Constitution Committee Matt Fallaize
Transport Licensing Authority Decision deferred until next Wednesday
Overseas Aid and Development Commission Emilie Yerby
States' Trading Supervisory Board Dave Jones

The remaining members of the committees, authorities, boards and commission will be elected on 18 May.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites