Alderney States election under way

The polls have opened to decide who will take the five vacant seats in the States of Alderney.

Twelve candidates are contesting the election, with polling taking place at the Island Hall until 1830 GMT.

Just over half of the population of 2,400 are eligible to take part, each being able to vote for five candidates.

Half of the 10 seats in Alderney States are elected every two years, meaning each States member serves a four-year term.

The nominees are: Paul Arditti, Raymond Berry, Matthew Birmingham, Lois Fitzgerald, Raymond Gaudion, Ken Hampton, Victor Levine, Anthony Llewellyn, Lin Maurice, Ian Tugby, Arthur Wheeler and Norma Williams.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites