One seat still to be filled in Irish European election

Counting in the republic of ireland elections Image copyright RTE
Image caption Dublin is the only constituency to have elected all its MEPs

Counting is continuing in the Republic of Ireland's European election, with one out of 11 seats still to be decided.

Fine Gael have won four seats, Sinn Féin three, others two and Fianna Fáil one.

The final seat to be decided is the fourth seat in the Midlands North-West constituency.

Sinn Féin's Matt Carthy was elected on the seventh count on Tuesday evening.

Mr Carthy's surplus of 5,756 votes will now be divided between outgoing MEPs Pat 'the Cope' Gallagher of Fianna Fáil and independent Marian Harkin to decide the final seat.

Independent Luke 'Ming' Flanagan, and Fine Gael's Mairead McGuinness have already been elected in Midlands-North-West.

Fianna Fáil's Brian Crowley, Fine Gael's Seán Kelly and Deirdre Clune, and Sinn Féin's Liadh Ní Riada were elected in the South constituency.

All three MEPs have also been elected for Dublin.

Sinn Féin's Lynn Boylan topped the poll and, following a recount, she was joined by independent Nessa Childers and Brian Hayes of Fine Gael.

Green Party candidate Eamon Ryan requested a recount after he polled around 1,000 votes fewer than Mr Hayes.

In local elections, only six seats are left to be decided.

These are in the Ballybay-Clones electoral area for Monaghan County Council, following the death of a Fine Gael councillor.

Owen Bannigan, 51, who had been a member of Monaghan County Council since 1999, died of a suspected heart attack on Friday afternoon.

The Department of the Environment said that ballots cast in the local election in the Ballybay-Clones electoral area would be destroyed and the election will now take place on Saturday, 7 June.

Disastrous results

In local council elections, Fianna Fáil received 25.3% of the first preference vote and have made significant gains, securing 266 seats so far.

Independents and others are the next largest grouping, with 237 council seats and a first preference vote of 28.3%.

Fine Gael have currently won 232 seats while Sinn Féin has grown to 157 seats. Labour have won 51 seats.

Irish deputy prime minister (Tánaiste) Eamon Gilmore announced he is standing down as Labour Party leader, after the party's disastrous election results.

Image copyright PA
Image caption Socialist Party candidate Ruth Coppinger took the seat in the Dublin West by-election

Voters also went to the polls to elect two new TDs (Irish MPs) following the death of one and the resignation of another.

Fine Gael's Gabrielle McFadden won the seat in the Longford Westmeath by-election.

It was formerly held by her sister, the late Fine Gael TD Nicky McFadden, who died in March from Motor Neurone Disease.

The Dublin West by-election was won by Socialist Party candidate Ruth Coppinger - she replaced Independent Patrick McNulty.

He resigned in March after admitted sending inappropriate messages to a teenage girl on Facebook

Related Topics

More on this story