India elections: How did big names do?

The BJP's supporters are celebrating their party's victory Image copyright Reuters
Image caption The BJP's supporters are celebrating their party's victory

India's general elections, described as the world's biggest democratic exercise, have come to a close with results showing a comfortable win for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Many of its top leaders, including prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, have won their seats.

But several leaders of the outgoing Congress party have lost. BBC Monitoring looks at how some of the big names in the 2014 general elections fared.

Who won their seats?

Narendra Modi

Image copyright AP
Image caption Mr Modi led the BJP's campaign in the 2014 general elections

Mr Modi has won the constituency of Vadodara in the western state of Gujarat and also from Varanasi in the northern state of Uttar Pradesh. India's election law allows politicians to stand in two seats, but Mr Modi will now have to relinquish one of them.

Varanasi was one of the most talked-about constituencies because of the presence of Mr Modi and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal.

LK Advani

Mr Advani, a founding member of the BJP, held Gandhinagar in Gujarat. The veteran leader first won the seat in 1991.

Rajnath Singh

The BJP president won Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh. The seat has a symbolic value for the party because it sent former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee to parliament five times between 1991 and 2004.

Sonia Gandhi

Image copyright AFP
Image caption Mrs Gandhi's Congress party has conceded defeat

Despite her party being routed nationally, the Congress president retained her Rae Bareli constituency in Uttar Pradesh. Analysts say Mrs Gandhi's win is likely to be among the few bright moments for her party in the elections.

Rahul Gandhi

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption From left to right, Smriti Irani, Rahul Gandhi and Kumar Vishwas fought a three-way battle in Amethi

The Congress vice-president failed to inspire India's voters but he did manage to hold the Gandhi-Nehru stronghold of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. Mr Gandhi, who has been the face of his party's campaign and won the seat in 2004 and 2009 with huge margins, secured victory against the BJP's Smriti Irani and the AAP's Kumar Vishwas - but with a narrower lead.

Shashi Tharoor

The Congress minister retained his Trivandrum seat in the southern state of Kerala against the BJP veteran O Rajagopal and the Left's Bennet Abraham.

Kirron Kher

The BJP's actor-turned-politician won in Chandigarh, defeating fellow actor and AAP candidate Gul Panag and the Congress party's Pawan Bansal.

Hema Malini

The Bollywood actress secured a comfortable victory in Mathura in Uttar Pradesh against the regional Bahujan Samaj Party's Yogesh Dwivedi.

... and who lost?

Kapil Sibal

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Harsh Vardhan (centre) beat Ashutosh (left) and Kapil Sibal in Delhi's Chandni Chowk

A minister in the outgoing government, the Congress leader lost his Chandni Chowk seat to the BJP's Harsh Vardhan. The AAP's Ashutosh came second, leaving Mr Sibal in the third spot. This was one of the eagerly watched seats because of the three-way contest. Harsh Vardhan, the winning candidate, was the BJP's chief ministerial candidate in last year's Delhi state elections.

Nandan Nilekani

The Congress party's billionaire candidate from Bangalore South lost against the BJP's Ananth Kumar, former federal minister.

Mr Nilekani is the former head of Indian IT giant Infosys and is credited with making the firm a "great success story" with his colleagues. The billionaire quit Infosys in 2009 to head the federal government's ambitious project to provide a unique identification number to half of India's billion-plus people and joined the Congress party earlier in the year.

Salman Khurshid

The federal minister lost his Farrukhabad seat in Uttar Pradesh. The two-time MP was beaten by regional Samajwadi Party candidate Rameshwar Singh.

Arvind Kejriwal

Image copyright Reuters
Image caption Arvind Kejriwal's AAP contested more than 400 seats

The AAP leader lost his debut parliamentary election against Mr Modi in Varanasi. He had pledged to fight against Mr Modi even before polling dates were announced. Mr Kejriwal and his party will now look to assess their strategy after a humbling defeat in their first general election.

Arun Jaitley

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption The BJP's Arun Jaitley (left) lost to the Congress party's Amarinder Singh

The senior BJP leader lost to the Congress party's Amarinder Singh in Amritsar, Punjab. The seat was won by the BJP's Navjot Singh Sidhu in the 2009 general elections.

Farooq Abdullah

The leader of the regional National Conference lost in Srinagar in Indian-administered Kashmir. Mr Abdullah was a federal minister and alliance partner of the Congress party.

BBC Monitoring reports and analyses news from TV, radio, web and print media around the world. For more reports from BBC Monitoring, click here. You can follow BBC Monitoring on Twitter and Facebook.

Related Topics

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites